top of page
  • Writer's pictureLinda Jolly

The Social Dilemma


 

The social dilemma sheds light on the realities of big Tech and how social media has morphed into something much more than just connecting with friends. I found it an insightful refresher to the negative effects of social media and it offers the viewers an insiders perspective to the motivations of these massive tech companies. Having ex-employees speak out on the realities of how our data is stored and sold was alarming and it makes you question just how much information these companies know about you. I think it's in peoples best interest to educate themselves on where their data is going and begin to create balance with their phone usage. As someone who grew up in the wake of social media, the addictive design and consuming nature is something I'm all too familiar with. Because of this, I try to be more mindful with where I put my time and avoid getting sucked into the social media rabbit hole. However, as we continue to progress in this digital age and our communication styles shift, I have inclinations that we will only fall further into this fight for our attention.


Comments


bottom of page